If you follow someone on Instagram, they will get a notification, regardless of whether their account is private or public. However, if they have a public account, they will receive a request that they can choose to accept or deny. If you don’t follow someone, you will not be able to see their content if they are a private account. If they are public, you can see their poets but won’t be able to see stories meant for close friends.
Although the following someone does not guarantee that they will be able to see your account, if your account is public, they will be able to view it. If it is private, they will have to send a request to follow you in order to view your account. If you want to see someone’s account without their knowledge, you can create a fake account and follow them using it, or you can request a mutual friend to let you borrow their Instagram account.
If You Follow Someone on Instagram, Will They Know?
If you want to follow someone on Instagram, simply hit the follow button. The person you’re trying to follow will be notified either way, whether they have a public or private account. The following request will be available at the top of your notification section until you accept it. Once you accept the friend request, the request will change into a notification saying “_username_ started following you”.
Related Article: How To Log Out of Instagram from All Devices
What Happens If You Don’t Follow Someone on Instagram?
There are a few things that will happen:
Your DM is delivered on Message Requests, not Inbox:
If you don’t follow someone on Twitter, any messages you try to send them will appear in their “message requests” section instead of in direct messages. The person you’re trying to message can choose to accept or reject these requests.
If you’re wondering what message requests are, go to your Instagram app and the DM section. At the top right corner, you will see a button that says “Message Requests.” This is where your messages will appear. Once you accept the request, you and the person you’re messaging will be able to see each other’s messages.
If you message someone who you don’t follow, your message won’t appear in their DMs with everyone else’s messages. Instead, it’ll go to their Message Requests.
You can still see Public Posts:
If you don’t follow someone, you can still see their public posts. This applies to accounts that are not private (Public Accounts). All their posts will be on their profile, and you can view them without any problem. However, you will not be able to see stories and other things that are only for followers or close friends. To see more than that, follow the tips below.
Video on If You Follow Someone on Instagram Will They Know:
Find his stuff from Mutual follower’s Phone:
Another way to see someone’s profile without being their follower is to get a friend to lend you, their phone. Make sure the friend follows the person whose account you want to see and that you have their permission to use their account. Using their account, you can see the person’s profile without your name appearing in their follower list.
Frequently Asked Questions:
If you follow someone on Instagram and then unfollow, will they know?
Following and Unfollowing Someone Technically, if you follow someone and then unfollow them, they will know. However, they won’t get any notification about it. So, if they’re not actively trying to keep track of who follows and unfollows them, they probably won’t know that you unfollowed them.
So tracking just the number of followers will know that a follower decreased, but won’t the names of the followers. If a track not only the number of followers but also the names of the followers, manually or via a third-party app, they will know that you have unfollowed them.
If I follow someone on Instagram, can they see my posts?
If someone you follow on Instagram clicks on your username from the following notification, they can view your account details and posts to better understand what kind of person you are before following you. This is only applicable to public accounts.
If your account is private, they will only be able to see your username and bio when they get a notification with your username on it and click on it. Your posts and follow lists will be private.
Hello, My name is Shari & I am a writer for the ‘Outlook AppIns’ blog. I’m a CSIT graduate & I’ve been working in the IT industry for 3 years.