What Happens When You Hide Your Story on Instagram – Guide

Your story is not visible to users from whom you’re hiding it when you hide it on Instagram. If you don’t want certain people to see your story, you can hide it from them before you post. If you want your story to be seen by only certain people, you’ll need to post it as a Close Friends story. Mark the users who you want to share your story with as Close Friends, then post it.

Your story will appear in a green circle with a green star icon on the top, so they’ll be sure to see it. You can make your account private so that only your followers can see your story. If you don’t want someone to see your story, you can block them from your profile or remove them from your Followers list. If you don’t want to see someone’s story, you can mute them or unfollow them on Instagram.

What Happens When You Hide Your Story on Instagram:

When you want to keep your Instagram story private, you can either hide it from specific people or make it visible to only a few of your followers.

Related Post: How To Turn Off Message Requests on Instagram

Here’s what happens when you hide a story on Instagram:

Hide from Certain Followers:

If you’re hiding your story from certain followers by adding their names to the “Hide story from” list, they won’t be able to see any of your future stories. To let them see your stories again, you’ll need to remove them from the “Hide story from” list. You can hide your Instagram story from specific people by adding them to the Hide story from the list. Your story will still be visible to your followers and non-followers (if your account is public), but the person you’ve restricted won’t be able to see it.

Show Only to Close Friends (Specific Followers):

If the only people you want to see your story are your Close Friends, you’ll need to post it to just them. Only those people will be able to see it, not any of your other followers or non-followers. If you post a story that is only visible to your close friends, they will be able to tell by the green circle and star icon. If you want to share a story with only specific people, they will know it is meant only for them because they are added as Close Friends.

Hide Story from Non-Followers:

If your account is public, then all the stories that you post are visible to both your followers and non-followers. Whenever you post a story from a private Instagram account, only your followers will be able to see it. If you switch to a private profile, your stories will be hidden from people who don’t follow you.

Do you want to keep your public account or change it to a private account? If you want to keep your public account, you can still make the story visible to just the followers of your account by adding all the followers as Close Friends and then posting a story that’s visible to Close Friends only.

Take Control of Who Sees Your Story:

You can choose who sees your story by hiding it from certain people or making it visible to only some followers. Private accounts help you take control of who can see your story. By switching to a private account, you can restrict all your stalkers and non-followers from seeing your story. This helps you have greater boundaries regarding who can see your story.

What Are Two Ways Of Hiding Instagram Story Directly:

There are many methods that you can follow:

Hide Story from Specific Followers:

You can hide your Instagram story from certain Specific People by including them under the “Hide Story From” list. The users who are under this list will not get to see your Instagram story unless you unhide it from them. If you don’t want your stories on Instagram to be viewed by some followers, you need to mark them under the list of hidden followers and then post the story. All your upcoming stories would automatically stop appearing to them.

Here is how you can hide your Instagram story from some specific users:

Steps To Follow:

  • Open the Instagram application.
  • Log into your account.
  • Click on the profile picture icon from the bottom right of the page. 1
  • Click on the three lines icon.2
  • Next, you’ll need to click on the option 3
  • Then click on.4
  • Click on 5
  • You’ll need to click on 0 people below the Hide story from6
  • Then search for the user from whom you want to hide your upcoming stories and mark the name.
  • You can even mark the names from the list by scrolling it.
  • Then come back to the previous page to save the changes.

Video on How to Hide Instagram Story from Someone:

How Can I Hide Others’ Instagram Stories from My Account:

If you don’t want to see someone’s Instagram story on your account, you can mute his story or stop following the user on Instagram. The stories on your Instagram account come from the users you follow on Instagram. But if you don’t want to see them temporarily, you can mute them. If you want them to disappear permanently from your account, you can just stop following the account on Instagram.

Steps To Follow:

  • Open the Instagram app and log into your account.
  • Next, you’ll be able to see the stories on your homepage.
  • Click and hold the story that you want to mute. 7
  • Then click on three dots. 8
  • Click on Mute. It would disappear from the story section. You can unmute it anytime you want. 9

Steps to unfollow someone on Instagram: 

Steps To Follow:

  • Open the Instagram application and log in to your account.
  • Search for the user whom you want to unfollow.
  • From the search results, get into his profile.
  • Click on the Following 10
  • Then click on11

Confirm it by clicking on Unfollow on the confirmation box.

Frequently Asked Questions:

How To Hide Your Story from Everyone on Instagram?

If you want to keep your story hidden from all your followers, What Happens When You Hide Your Story on Instagram you need to mark everyone on the “Hide Story From” list. But if you just want to keep it hidden from non-followers, you can switch to a private account.

How To Tell If Someone Deleted Their Instagram Story?

First, you need to find the profile of the user and click on his profile picture to check if any story opens up or not. If the user has deleted the story, then it won’t show you any story but if it’s still there, you’ll be able to see it. If the profile picture is surrounded by a red circle, it means that there is a new story uploaded by the user which you’ve not seen yet.

Leave a Comment