How to mark Email as Normal Personal, Private or Confidential in Outlook

How to mark Email as Normal Personal, Private or Confidential in Outlook, you can set a sensitivity level for your message to help recipients know your intentions. You can set outgoing messages as Normal, Personal, Private, or Confidential. This will remain recipients to keep that messages as such.

What is the difference between Personal, Private and Confidential in Outlook?

Related Post: How to share your Outlook Calendar with others – Detailed Guide

There are three different sensitivity levels in Outlook: personal, private, and confidential.

Normal: This is the default normal mode.
Personal: Please treat this message as personal.
Private: This private message suggests that the recipient should keep it confidential.
Confidential: This is confidential information. Please handle it accordingly.

How to mark Email as Normal, Personal, Private or Confidential in Outlook

In Microsoft Outlook, you can set a Sensitivity Level to your email. To do this, open your message and click the down arrow next to the “Sensitivity” button. Then, select your desired level from the drop-down menu.

Change sensitivity level for a single email in Outlook

On your New Email window, click the Message tab, then click the More button in the Tag group.

A Properties dialog box will open.

Sensitivity Click the Sensitivity drop-down arrow and choose Normal, Personal, Private, or Confidential from the list. Then click the Close button.

Set a sensitivity level for all Outlook email messages

Open the File tab, then click Options on the backstage view. The Outlook Options dialog box will appear.

To change your sensitivity level for new messages, under “Send messages,” select an option from the “Default Sensitivity level” list.

We hope this helps you understand the sensitivity level of an email message; if you have questions about the tutorial, let us know in the comments.

Leave a Comment