What Does Sweep Do In Outlook? – How To Sweep Emails Using Rule?

What Does Sweep Do In Outlook, Moving or deleting emails individually or in bulk using rule is one of the great features offered by Outlook.

People tend to forget that rules are very useful for removing unwanted emails easily, so today’s post will explain how to save time managing your email inbox by automating the process.

What does sweep do in Outlook?

Sweep is the feature in Outlook 365 for webmail/online to clear unwanted emails. Sweep arranges messages from specific senders. Sweeping Clearing Batches Automated Replies, Clear Delivery Failure Messages

How Sweep Works? [Step by Step tutorial]

The Sweep function runs once every 24 hours and allows you to create rules for any folder in your email account. The way it works is…

  • First open Outlook web application, Login to your account (it is not mandatory to have a licensed account, you can use the free version too).
  • Now select the email you like to perform the following actions, click sweep.

Sweep lets you designate specific actions with regards to replies to emails from specific senders. Emails can be moved to a folder, archived or deleted based on what you decide.

Outlook Sweep may seem confusing at first to a lot of people. But upon closer examination, it’s actually a simple set of four options you have access to when responding to emails.

How-Sweep-Works 1

Move all emails from the Inbox folder: By default, Outlook moves all mail from a particular sender to a different folder. You can also move all emails to a different folder (Junk mail, Draft, Sent Items), simply click OK.Move-all-messages-from-the-inbox-folder 2

Please consider the following action: Please move all email messages related to this rule, and any future email messages received from sender “sender” into the folder.

Move-all-messages-from-the-inbox-folder-and-any-future-messages 3

Always keep the most recent message and delete or move the rest: Under this scenario, the most recent email message from that sender will remain in your inbox, and everything else will either be deleted or moved to a folder.

If you constantly email back and forth with someone, this is a good rule to choose, as it helps prevent inbox clutter.Always-keep-the-latest-message-and-delete-the-rest 4

If you don’t feel like you need all of the emails in your inbox for reference or tracking, you can use the Sweep command.

This command will move everything in any specific folder to a default user-defined folder, resulting in a structured and well-organized inbox.

There are a lot of messages that, if you don’t deal with them within a week or so, will be forgotten about. So why not move those messages out of your Inbox automatically?

Always-delete-messages-older-than-10-days 5

How to Disable & Delete a Sweep Rule?

Once you create a rule and like to edit or view all of your Sweep rules and delete them, then:

  • First open Outlook on the Web.
  • Now click Gear Icon from the top right-hand corner of the screen.
  • Then click View all Outlook settings, from the bottom of the screen.
  • How-to-Disable-Delete-a-Sweep-Rule 6
  • Now from starting from Left, Click Mail >> Click Sweep
  • Then you observe an active list of sweep rules on the extreme right side of the screen. You can turn off/Disable the Rule or Click the trash can icon next to the rule you want to delete. Delete-a-Sweep-Rule 7

Leave a Comment