Table of Contents
- How To Delete Instagram Conversations from Both Sides?
- Open your direct message
- Tap & hold the message for 3 seconds
- Tap on “Unsend”
- Video on Can You Delete Instagram Conversation from Both Sides:
- How Long Do Instagram Direct Messages Last?
- What Is Instagram’s Unsend Message Option?
- Frequently Asked Questions:
Yes, you can delete Instagram messages from both sides. But the twist is that you can only delete those messages during a conversation that you have to send to another person. You cannot delete the messages that others have sent you. To delete/Unsend messages on Instagram, open your account on the app or web, and click on the ‘Direct Message’ icon, which looks like an airplane symbol, given on the top right corner of the app home screen.
On the direct message tab, you’ll find all the chats you had with your friends. To delete a message, open it and tap & hold the message for 3 seconds.
You have the option to Unsend a message at any time. To do this, simply select the “Unsend” option from the menu at the bottom of the screen. Your message will then be deleted instantly from both sides.
On Instagram, there is no such option as a “Delete” message or chat; rather, there is an option called “Unsend” the messages.
You can delete the message and it would not appear in the conversation. It will disappear from both sides.
How To Delete Instagram Conversations from Both Sides?
Instagram has launched a very interesting feature to ‘Unsend’ the sent messages to anyone. You can Unsend the message anytime, even after weeks and months after sending it. Once you will Unsend the message, it will no longer be visible to the other person. After Unsending the message, it gets deleted from the conversation and disappears from both sides. Even if the other person has already seen it, you can Unsend it.
Related Article: How To Find Others’ Instagram Account Details
Now let’s see how to delete the message or conversation from both sides on Instagram. Here’s how:
Open your direct message
First, open the Instagram app and log in to your account. When you enter your account, you will see an airplane-like icon on the top right corner of the home screen. That is the icon for “Direct Message.” Tap on it and go to the “Direct Message” tab. On the Direct Message tab, you will find all the chats and people you have chatted with. To Unsend or delete a message from both sides, open the chat and the message you want to delete.
Tap & hold the message for 3 seconds
Both you and the person you are messaging will have to hold down the message for three seconds in order to delete it. If you hold the message for 3 seconds, an option will appear at the bottom of the screen letting you Unsend the message.
Tap on “Unsend”
At the bottom of the screen, tap the “Unsend” button. Your message will instantly disappear and be deleted from both sides. You will never see the message again. This is how you delete or Unsend the message on Instagram from both sides.
Video on Can You Delete Instagram Conversation from Both Sides:
How Long Do Instagram Direct Messages Last?
The Instagram direct messages last forever, even after you delete them. They’ll only be deleted after 30 days if you delete your account. Otherwise, they’ll stay on your direct message list forever. Your Instagram direct message will last forever and only be deleted if you delete your Instagram account.
What Is Instagram’s Unsend Message Option?
People might have noticed that Instagram does not have a “Delete Message” or “Delete conversation option”. Rather, it has this option, called “Unsend”. The ‘unsend’ message option that Instagram has launched recently, is next to amazing and users are loving it like anything.
The best ‘unsend’ message is that it doesn’t leave any traces. This means the person you sent it to won’t get a notification. So, if you have a message you don’t want to send, you can delete it and the person won’t ever know. The best thing about unsending or deleting messages is that you can do it anytime, anywhere, even after months and weeks.
Frequently Asked Questions:
When you delete a DM on Instagram does it delete for the other person?
The message gets deleted for both sides when you delete a direct message. However, you can only delete or unsend the direct messages that you have typed and sent. You cannot delete the direct message that another person in the conversation has sent you.
Instagram has an amazing feature that allows users to delete sent messages any time after sending. However, you can only delete your messages, not the ones sent by another person. Therefore, when you delete a direct message on Instagram, only your messages are deleted from both sides.
Can the other person delete your Instagram messages?
I know that you can’t delete Instagram direct messages after you’ve sent them, but is there any way to delete messages that have been sent to you? No, there is no way for someone else to delete Instagram direct messages that you have sent. The only way to delete a message is to unsend it from your own device.
If you delete the Instagram app, would it delete the messages?
No. Uninstalling the Instagram app will not affect your messages, chats, and other things. They will remain intact on your account. When you reinstall the app or log in on the desktop, you will find all your messages, posts, etc., there waiting for you. However, if you delete your Instagram account, then, after 30 days your messages will be automatically deleted. So, feel free to uninstall the app without worrying about losing your messages.